Meg Campbell

Meg Campbell

Meg Campbell was born in Palmerston North in 1937. She was educated at Marsden School and Victoria University. She had a very promising acting career, which was cut short in 1957 when she met and fell in love with the poet Alistair Te Ariki Campbell. She and Alistair lived together in Pukerua Bay for 47 years. Meg published six poetry collections, beginning with The Way Back, which won the PEN Award for the Best First Book of Poetry in 1982.

Her final book, Poems Adrift, came out on 17 November 2007, a day after she died at home, and two days before her 70th birthday.

List of Publications


The Way Back (Te Kotare Press, 1981)
A Durable Fire (Te Kotare Press, 1982)
Orpheus and Other Poems (Te Kotare Press, 1990)
The Better Part (Hazard Press, 1998)
Resistance (Earl of Seacliff Art Workshop, 2004)
Poems Adrift (Te Kotare Press, 2007)
It's Love, Isn't It? The Love Poems (HeadworX, 2008)